Top rules for shopping gluten-free

Articledetail_readinglist_1200x510

Rule #1: Check the label! Anything containing “wheat,” “rye,” or “barley” is not gluten-free. Other, seemingly innocent additives, like food starch, caramel coloring, malt vinegar and hydrolyzed plant or vegetable protein also are not likely to be gluten-free.

Rule #2: If you’re not sure, find out! Most food manufacturers have customer service numbers and will answer any questions about products or ingredients. Until you’re sure a product is gluten-free, it’s safer not to use it. Accidentally ingesting gluten can be very harmful to people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Rule #3: Shop the perimeter of the store. Fortunately, many nutritious foods that are naturally gluten-free are found on the perimeter of the store. Fruits and vegetables, lean meats, fish and chicken, nuts and seeds, low-fat unflavored dairy products are all safe bets.

Rule #4: Look for the Gluten-Free Certification Certified Gluten-Free seal. Many food manufacturers are now making healthy and delicious gluten-free products. This seal indicates that the manufacturing facility was inspected and the product contains less than 10 ppm of gluten.

Sources:

Gluten Intolerance Group Toolkit

Leave a Reply